Tags

,

TG_TGD

My thoughts:

“We should be building starships instead of bailing out banks!”

Roman emperors offered the people panis et circenses, Torture Garden only has the circuses to offer, and no bread. 🙂

The Great Depression (and I take this to be both an economic and a psychological depression) is a politically-charged, dystopic album imbued with a sense of universality. Politically, it is very much left wing, which is the right wing, of course.

The highlights of this album are for me the many speeches throughout the disc, since I’m a spoken-word fan, the overall (sick) atmosphere created (with some industrial influences here and there), and the vocals, that many a time remind me of the late Dead.

The opening self-titled track, with its hard-hitting statements, so dear to my heart, sets the tone for the rest of the album: “My country is humanity, my nation is the world”, “When life gives you lemons, squeeze them in the eyes of the rich”. That’s followed up by the appropriately titled Pervert, whose initial chords are beautiful and as sick as it should be. Testament of the Tapeworm just reminds us of the powers that be and rule the world.

After quite a few listens, my favourite track is Mr. Mammon, where the wailing chants at the end are particularly to my liking. Speaking of chants, listening to pieces of revolutionary songs on Together, Reborn was a nice surprise. The Spanish civil war came to mind and, for a moment, I was expecting to hear Grândola, Vila Morena, the hymn to the Portuguese revolution of 25th April 1974 being sung.

I must also mention In Memory of the Fallen and its suicide-based theme, worthy of my suicide songs list.

The Clearing of Misery is perhaps the easiest song on TGD, being almost commercial.

Overall, I think this full-length represents a new (vicious) concept and a good surprise. If this is a love/hate thing, then I’m one of the lovers and I’ve decided to acquire a physical copy when TGD is available on CD format.

“We must refuse to be sedated”

A LUTA CONTINUA!

Facebook

last.fm

